changing lives through education…

November 29, 2011

 The Schoerke Foundation
P.O. Box 214
Westtown, PA 19395

Dear Kwesi, Melissa, Roy, Laura, and the many other amazing people involved with the Schoerke Foundation,

            I want to thank you all for giving me the incredible opportunity to travel to Ghana and learn so much about the world. The grant I received last summer gave me the experience of a lifetime. It was so inspiring it made me eager to tell people about my time and share the unbelievable, astounding, moving, and endless opportunities Heritage Academy and The Schoerke Foundation have to offer for everyone.   

Last Monday, I gave a presentation to my Contemporary Issues class about Heritage Academy and how the work that is done there is changing the lives of people all over the world. I tried to show them why I believe Heritage is more than just a school in addition to how amazing the entire program is. At the end of my presentation, I told my classmates about the Powderpuff Football event I was helping to coordinate. This game’s proceeds would be donated to charity and fifty percent would go directly to the Schoerke Foundation. I emphasized that if just fifteen students showed up at the game, they would be giving a student a chance at an incredible education they wouldn’t otherwise have.  I think that the message was heard because we were able to raise over one thousand dollars for charity last week.

            When I tell people about my trip to Ghana, my goal is to inspire people to see the ripple effect of change that one incredible school is making, and the superb sense of hope and knowledge they are instilling in every student. I want people to see how Heritage is helping to shape an amazing future for these kids and making an everyday effort to stop the cycle of poverty in families.

            I know the Schoerke Foundation motto, “Changing lives in Ghana and the US through education,” is true because I experienced the astronomical growth that Heritage has to offer for everyone, regardless of their age. I hope that the donation we are so happy to send today helps to change the lives of even more students everywhere in the future.

 Thanks again for being my all-time favorite non-profit,

 Anne-Claire and Friends at Daniel Hand High School

Leave a Reply

